Mountain View Electric Association awards 14 scholarships to graduating high school seniors. Thirteen scholarships will be given to students planning to attend accredited colleges, universities, and junior colleges or community colleges in the fall. The recipients will be chosen through a computerized, random selection procedure. The MVEA scholarship application will be used for the ten $1,000 MVEA scholarships; the $1,000 E.A. “Mick” Geesen Memorial scholarship; the $1,000 Basin Electric scholarship and the $1,000 Tri-State Generation and Transmission scholarship. Please use the MVEA scholarship application form below to apply for each of these scholarships.

Mountain View Electric Association, Inc. (MVEA) will award one, $1,000 Vocational/Technical Scholarship to a student entering an occupational training program of two years or less at an accredited vocational/technical school, community college or junior college. Please use the MVEA Vo/Tech scholarship application form below to apply.

The current scholarship application period started September 1, 2017 and all applications are due on January 16, 2018.

Rocky Mountain Electrical League has a scholarship available for students planning to pursue an electric industry position or pursue a career in the electric energy industry. Applications can be found on

If you are interested in a future as a lineworker, click here to learn about local lineworker school opportunities. 

2017 Scholarship Winners

MVEA $1,000 Scholarships:

  • Amanda Sperle – Discovery Canyon Campus HS
  • Amelia Hovanec – Lewis-Palmer HS
  • Jacqueline George – Pine Creek HS
  • Matthew Jackson Phillips – Pine Creek HS
  • Raegan Petch – Pine Creek HS
  • Sean Steinhart – Limon HS
  • Sydnie Hudson – Falcon HS
  • Tucker Balman – Palmer Ridge HS
  • Hannah Wilson – Colorado Springs Christian School
  • Andrea Clements – Simla HS

Basin Electric Power Cooperative $1,000 Scholarship:

  • Micah Brink – Palmer Ridge HS

Tri-State Generation and Transmission $1,000 Scholarship:

  • Zane Carpenter – Limon HS

E.A. “Mick” Geesen $1,000 Scholarship:

  • Hunter John McClung – Lewis-Palmer HS

MVEA Vo-Tech $1,000 Scholarship:

  • Talor Saffer – Flager HS