MVEA’s 76th Annual Meeting of Members Puts the PoWEr of “WE” Front and Center

Meeting highlights included re-election of 2 board members, bucket truck rides, high voltage demo, information booths and over $2,500 in cash and prize giveaways!

Limon, CO – More than 250 attendees experienced the poWEr of “WE” first-hand as Mountain View Electric Association, Inc.’s (MVEA) member-owners gathered at Limon Public Schools in Limon on June 8,2017 for the 76th Annual Meeting of Members. While the location of the annual event changes each year, selected by the Board of Directors and rotating throughout the MVEA service territory, the purpose of the meeting remains the same: to take care of the important business of the co-op and the equally important business of building a real sense of community.

Upon arrival, members were greeted by MVEA employees and invited to take a “ride” in the bucket of one of MVEA’s bucket trucks or watch a high voltage electric safety demonstration. Once registered, members had an opportunity to visit booths to learn more about MVEA’s services and programs including Operation Round Up®, the Co-op Connections Card, and MVEA’s Co-op Cares Energy Efficiency Rebate Program. Additional booths from 811 “Call Before You Dig,” and Tri-State Generation and Transmission were crowd favorites with popular giveaway items and useful resources.

Guests enjoyed a barbeque dinner prepared by Troy Merrill of Troy’s Specialty Bar-B-Que out of Woodrow, CO, and cinnamon rolls prepared by Limon Public Schools Nutrition Services. Dinner and dessert assistance was provided by members of Limon Pubic Schools’ Future Business Leaders of America as well as MVEA employees. Pre-meeting entertainment was provided by singer and songwriter Brad Richmond. Invocation was presented by retired MVEA Board member, Allen Gresham.

Two important guiding principles of being an electric cooperative are accountability and integrity through open communication. To this end, the business meeting included important updates to keep MVEA’s member-owners informed. This year there were two districts where Directors’ three year terms were up for election: District 2, Rick L. Gordon; and District 7, Donna Andersen-Van Ness. Each district was uncontested and each incumbent director was reelected for a new term. Board president Joe Martin and chief executive officer Jim Herron gave their reports on the state of the cooperative and legislative issues that impact our services, our rates and our members.

Throughout the meeting, door prizes were awarded including $2,500 in cash from MVEA; a 43-inch LED SMART television provided by power supplier Tri-State Generation and Transmission; a 55-inch Samsung Curved LED SMART television provided by Foothills Energy, a MVEA construction contractor; and $150 in Home Depot gift cards from electrical supply cooperative Western United Supply. In addition, the two winners of MVEA’s $500 Whole Home LED Giveaway were announced. (A list of prize winners is below.)

The next Annual Meeting of Members will take place in Calhan on June 7, 2018. MVEA hopes to see many of its member-owners there!

2017 Annual Meeting Prize Winners

MVEA $500 Whole Home LED Lighting Giveaway – Ben & Susan Ferree, Limon

MVEA $500 Whole Home LED Lighting Giveaway – Dean & Robin Snow, Monument

$500 Sundowner prize – George P. Murphy, Peyton

$300 Sundowner prize – Mary Eileen Fritz, Colorado Springs

$100 Sundowner prize – Betty L. Whitney, Calhan

$100 Sundowner prize – Eleanor M. Martin, Calhan

55-inch television from Foothills Energy – Warren McCue, Arriba

43-inch television from Tri-State Generation and Transmission – Everett W. Churchwell, Limon

$50 Home Depot gift cards from Western United Electric Supply – Daniel D. Rivers, Monument; Kathryn Wicklund, Colorado Springs; and Donna L. Nickell, Karval

Podium flowers – Ralph Moffie, Colorado Springs

Table arrangement flowers – Anne Cavanaugh-Boger, Colorado Springs and Marvin S. Young, Monument

$50 Prize Winners:

Jerry Allen, Limon

Donald Ashcroft, Matheson

Craig Bailey, Limon

Jeanette I. Bartling, Calhan

Kimel Brent, Arriba

Leslie & Janice Bullock, Calhan

Jerald & Roberta Charles, Peyton

Ansel J Clanin, Limon

Ellicott Fire Protection District

Lowell Grauberger, Peyton

Virgil Kochis, Matheson

Dale M. Kudlock, Limon

Richard L. Lans, Colorado Springs

Paul & Teresa Lundquist, Colorado Springs

Virginia J. Lutt, Colorado Springs

Terry D. Malcom, Limon

Mark & Valorie Meyer, Calhan

Nolan Payne, Rush

Larry Pepper, Karval

Alexander Pettigrew, Colorado Springs

Margaret Scherrer, Limon

Jeffrey & Tammy Specht, Calhan

Andrew & Lisa Sperle, Colorado Springs

Frances Sproch, Ramah

Edwin C. Storey, Peyton

Tommy & Sandra Wait, Calhan

David A. Webb, Calhan

Michael C. Winton, Colorado Springs

Terry E. Yoder, Limon

Linnea D. Zeschin, Limon

MVEA’s 76th Annual Meeting of Members Puts the PoWEr of “WE” Front and Center (PDF)